Welcome toClaxton, Georgia


Welcome toClaxton, Georgia
Terry Branch Mayor (912) 739-1712 X 16 mayor@cityofclaxton.net

J. Terry Branch was elected as the Mayor of the City of Claxton in November 2015 and began his first term as Mayor on January 1, 2016.  He is serving as the 40th Mayor of Claxton since the city’s formation in 1894.


A 1962 graduate of Glennville High School, Branch has also completed various leadership development courses including Dale Carnegie and the Leadership Evans program.


Mayor Branch retired from Georgia Farm Bureau as an Agency Manger in 2015 after 25 years of service. Prior to a distinguished career with Farm Bureau, Branch worked in the retail clothing industry for 27 years and served in the Air National Guard.


As an active community leader, Branch is the former chairman of the Claxton Downtown Development Authority, the Claxton-Evans County Chamber of Commerce, Claxton Jaycees, the Claxton Rotary Club, Evans County Chapter of the American Red Cross, Men’s Retailers Association of Georgia, Statesboro area Life Underwriters Fellowship Training Council, and the Georgia Southern University Fundraising Drive.  Branch also served on the Evans County Recreation Department Board of Directors, Tattnall Campground Trustees, Claxton City Council and served as Mayor-Pro Tem.


Mayor Branch currently serves as President of the Evans County Gideons International, Chairman of the Daisy United Methodist Church Board, is a member of the Claxton Rotary Club, Evans Memorial Hospital Authority, and the Economic Development Authority of Claxton-Evans County.


Branch’s awards and honors include numerous awards from Farm Bureau for outstanding sales and service and he received the 2008 Business Leader of the Year Award from the Chamber of Commerce.


Branch and his wife Vickie, married for 49 years, are the proud parents of 3 children and 8 grand-children and are members of the Daisy United Methodist Church.

VACANT City Administrator (912) 739-1712 X 16

City Administrator position is vacant

Diane Parker City Clerk (912) 739-1712 X 16 dparker@cityofclaxton.net

City Clerk Diane Parker

City Council


Donna Brewton
dbrewton@cityofclaxton.net District 1 Tina Hagan
thagan@cityofclaxton.net District 1 Dean Cameron dcameron@cityofclaxton.net District 2 Auril Byrd
abyrd@cityofclaxton.net District 2
Renee Kight
rkight@cityofclaxton.net District 2 Larry Anderson
landerson@cityofclaxton.net Mayor ProTempore District 3 C. Scott Lynn
slynn@cityofclaxton.net District 3

Law Enforcement & Legal

Dale Kirkland Chief of Police Department (912) 739-2121 dkirkland@cityofclaxton.net Jason Stone Chief of Fire Department (912) 739-3111 jstone@cityofclaxton.net William E. Callaway, Jr. City Attorney

Claxton Police Dept

(912) 739-2121
(912) 739-9811 Fax

Claxton Fire Dept

(912) 739-2121

(912) 739-9811 Fax

Claxton Utility Dept

(912) 739-1712

(912) 739-0442 Fax

Claxton Natural Gas Dept

(912) 739-1712

(912) 739-0442 Fax

Copyright © 2016 City of Claxton

City of Claxton, Georgia

206 Railroad Street

Claxton, GA 30417

Telephone (912) 739-1712  |   Fax (912) 739-0442

E-Verify No: 511300

Date of Authorization: 02/27/2012